Colloquialisms Gone Wild


Language is the means of getting an idea from my brain into yours without surgery.  ~Mark Amidon

I’ve lived all over this country and I have picked up a few, um, verbal ticks.  So, if you want to hang in my world, it helps to know the language. Here are a few “must know” words and phrases:

Equeeze me? Definition: I’m sorry? Have you lost your @#%*@# mind? Example: Pat Roberson: Haiti is being punsihed because they made a pact with the devil.  Response: Esqueeze me?

Who’s fucking this horse? Definition: Thank you for your input but I have this under control. Example: Husband: Aren’t you putting a bit too much oregano in the soup? Wife: Hey, who’s fucking this horse?

Prolly: Definition: (derivitive of probably) Maybe, maybe not.  Most commonly used in western states. Example: Question: So, you going to the show? Reply: Prolly, you?

You’re so pretty!: Definition: Thank god you are good looking because you are dumber than a bag of hair. Example: Ann Coulter: I think [women] should be armed but should not vote…women have no capacity to understand how money is earned. Response: You’re so pretty.

Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!: Definition: What a pleasant surprise! Example: Well butter my butt and call me a biscuit, look who’s here.

You wanna kiss my what? : Definition: There is no way I am going to do that.  Example: Hey, Deanna, I need you to help me clean this deer.  Response: I’m sorry, you wanna kiss my what? I didn’t hear you clear.

Well, you get the idea.  Sometimes how you say something is as important as what you say.  Others, it’s just fun to see the look on their face.

~ by D.L. Graves on January 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
