A Certain Degree of Uselessness


In life, it is often necessary, when some cherished scheme has failed, to take up the best alternative open, and if so, it is folly not to work for it with all your might. ~ Winston Churchill

For four years I worked full-time.  When I got off work I went to class at Mississippi College.  And I studied. And I worked very very hard. I made the President’s List, I made Alpha Chi.  My marriage fell apart.  I lost pretty much all I owned, had to file bankruptcy.  Got roommates.  And still I studied.  I learned how to run a sound board.  How to que up a teleprompter.  How to work a television camera and studio board.  How to frame a photo.  How to build a solid budget and design a public relations plan.  I read Shakespeare, Ghandi, Gilgamesh.  I learned about ancient history. And modern psychology.  I studied Euler’s algorithm and Merton’s Anomie Theory.  I took on extracurricular activities, volunteered for marketing projects and charities. Did an internship at the Jackson Free Press.  Studied some more.  Finally finally finally, exhausted and exhilarated, surrounded by friends and family and proudly displaying my magna cum laude scarf, I walked across the stage and received my diploma.

And now, three months later, I am in the same job, doing the same thing and making the same money.  I have sent out close to one hundred resumes.  All for posted positions.  Not. One. Call.  I sent my resume to friends and family to critique and check for errors.  I networked.  I have not let even one day go by without doing something to further my attempts at a new career.  Send out a resume, call a friend who might have a lead, check careerbuilders/monster/bigfoot.  Social network.  Live network.  Blog.

I am on Facebook, Google+, Twitter and LinkedIn.  And what has been my response to this deluge of Deanna?

*crickets*

What. The. Hell?

I honestly do not understand. I would understand if there were no jobs listed.  I would get it if I were cold calling and sending out blast resumes without a known position.  I have not.  But I am about to.

I thought about law school.  I have the grades and the recommendations.  I could get in.  What I can’t do is pay for it.  And according to MC Law the Bar Association only allows a law student to work 20 hours or less while in law school.  They do not have a dorm or provide housing so how exactly does one survive on twenty hours? I mean, if you don’t have a rich relative to pay your way? More loans? More debt? The purose of bettering my self and my circumstances through education was to avoid having to live in a one room shack and eat Top Ramen for weeks on end.

I am getting frustrated.  Which is a good thing.  I generally go from frustrated to pissed in about 2.5.  And when I am pissed I stop at nothing.  I will be aggressive.  I will be fearless. And as God is my witness, I WILL be gainfully employed in my field.

In the meantime, I will work for shoes.

Just sayin.

~ by D.L. Graves on August 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
